Dóra Bihary
Post Doctoral Scientist

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.


Over the last few years the lab consisted of people from many nations (Australia, UK, Ireland, Poland, Spain, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, China, Malaysia, Japan, India and Sri Lanka) and from different scientific disciplines (computer science, mathematics, engineering, physics, machine learning, bioinformatics, computational biology, virology, immunology, biotechnology, genomics, chemistry, cancer biology and medicine). The lab fosters an environment where everyone is treated equally and with respect. Mentorship and cross-disciplinary thinking is actively encouraged.

Click on the people below to find more information about them.
Shamith Samarajiwa
Group Leader
Junfan Huang
Data Scientist
Elsita Jungkurth
Research Assistant
Joanna Krupka 
PhD Student /Clinical Research Associate
Shoko Hirosue
MB/PhD student
Liviu Pirvan
PhD Student
Izzy Newsham
PhD Student
Maria Torra I Benach
MPhil Student
Matthew Greenig
MPhil Student
Anna Maria Papameletiou
Summer Intern
Swetha Kannan
Summer Intern
Dóra Bihary
(Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Laura Martens
(Masters Student)
Denisa Bogdan
(Summer Intern)
Tatyana Bayzetinova
(Summer Intern)
Natalia Pardo Lorente
(Masters Student)
Marcin Sendera
(Summer Intern)
Zhiyun Gong
(Summer Intern)
Niklas Müller-Bötticher
(Masters Student)
Vivian Wong Kah Ong
(Masters Student)
Charlie Fletcher
(Summer Intern)
Tanmoy Mukherjee
Shaik Naseer Pasha
Zachery Moore
Ieuan Walker
Ioana Olan
(PhD Student)
Anna Sozanska
Data Science Intern

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.


Postdoctoral Research Associates / Research Assistant

Izzy Newsham (2019-2020)

Dóra Bihary (2015-20)

Tanmoy Mukherjee (2018-19)

Naseer Pasha (2018-19) - Joint postdoc with Prof. Sowdhamini Ramanathan

PhD Students

Ioana Olan (2016-2018)

Medicine SSC students

Anna Sozanska (2018)

Shoko Hirosue (2018)

Masters Students

Niklas Müller-Bötticher - MSc in Biotechnology (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich) (2020)

Elsita Jungkurth - M.Phil in Genomic Medicine (2020)

Laura Martens - M.Phil in Computational Biology (2019)

Natalia Pardo Lorente - M.Phil in Genomic Medicine (2019)

Vivian Wong Kah-Ong - M.Eng in Information Engineering (2018)

Dilyana Mincheva - M.Phil in Computational Biology (2015)

Data Science Summer Students

Denisa Bogdan, Chemistry and Biomedical Science (2019)

Tatyana Bayzetinova, Bioinformatics (2019)

Marcin Sendera, Computer Science, Machine Learning & Mathematics (2018)

Zhiyun Gong, Bioinformatics (2018)

Oisín Faust - Mathematics, Machine Learning (2017)

Vivian Wong Kah Ong - Information Engineering (2017)

Anna Sozanska - Medicine, Engineering (2017, 2019)

Charlie Fletcher - Physics (2016)

Liviu Pirvan - Computer Science, Machine Learning (2016)

Sophie Roberts - Immunology, Cancer Biology  (2015)

Dilyana Mincheva - Mathematics, Computational Biology (2014)

Wellcome Trust Mathematical Genomics in Medicine rotation student

Ioana Olan - Mathematics, Computational Biology (2015)


Ieuan Walker - Medicine, Immunology (2019)

Zachery Moore -  Neuroscience (2019)

Kavya Robinson - Neuroscience (2019)