The lab is made up of a diverse group of people from different nationalities and scientific disciplines (computer science, mathematics, engineering, physics, machine learning, bioinformatics, computational biology, virology, immunology, genomics, chemistry, biology and medicine). The lab fosters an environment where everyone is treated equally and with respect. Mentorship and cross-disciplinary thinking is actively encouraged.
Click on the people below to find more information about them.
Shamith Samarajiwa
Group Leader
Junfan Huang
Data Scientist
Izzy Newsham
Data Scientist
Liviu Pirvan
PhD Student
Joanna Krupka 
PhD Student
Shoko Hirosue
MB/PhD student
Laura Martens
Data Science Intern
Anna Sozanska
Data Science Intern
Niklas Müller-Bötticher
Masters Student
Elsita Jungkurth
Masters Student
Dóra Bihary
(Alum, Postdoctoral Research Associate)
Denisa Bogdan
(Alum, Summer Intern)
Ieuan Walker
Tatyana Bayzetinova
(Alum, Summer Intern)
Natalia Pardo Lorente
(Alum, Masters Student)
Marcin Sendera
(Alum, Summer Intern)
Zhiyun Gong
(Alum, Summer Intern)
Ioana Olan
(Alum, PhD Student)
Vivian Wong Kah Ong
(Alum, Masters Student)
Charlie Fletcher
(Alum, Summer Intern)
Tanmoy Mukherjee
(Alum, Postdoc)
Shaik Naseer Pasha
(Alum, Postdoc)
Zachery Moore


Postdoctoral Research Associates / Research Assistant

Dóra Bihary (2015-20)

Tanmoy Mukherjee (2018-19)

Naseer Pasha (2018-19) - Joint postdoc with Prof. Sowdhamini Ramanathan

PhD Students

Ioana Olan (2016-2018)

Medicine SSC students

Anna Sozanska (2018)

Shoko Hirosue (2018)

Masters Students

Natalia Pardo Lorente - M.Phil in Genomic Medicine (2019)

Laura Martens - M.Phil in Computational Biology (2019)

Vivian Wong Kah-Ong - M.Eng in Information Engineering (2018)

Dilyana Mincheva - M.Phil in Computational Biology (2015)

Data Science Summer Students

Denisa Bogdan, Chemistry and Biomedical Science (2019)

Tatyana Bayzetinova, Bioinformatics (2019)

Marcin Sendera, Computer Science, Machine Learning & Mathematics (2018)

Zhiyun Gong, Bioinformatics (2018)

Oisín Faust - Mathematics, Machine Learning (2017)

Vivian Wong Kah Ong - Information Engineering (2017)

Anna Sozanska - Medicine, Engineering (2017, 2019)

Charlie Fletcher - Physics (2016)

Liviu Pirvan - Computer Science, Machine Learning (2016)

Sophie Roberts - Immunology, Cancer Biology  (2015)

Dilyana Mincheva - Mathematics, Computational Biology (2014)

Wellcome Trust Mathematical Genomics in Medicine rotation student

Ioana Olan - Mathematics, Computational Biology (2015)


Ieuan Walker - Medicine, Immunology (2019)

Zachery Moore -  Neuroscience (2019)

Kavya Robinson - Neuroscience (2019)

summer students1